Why Batman?

So, you read my first post.  And you came back for more?  Aren’t you just the glutton for punishment?

Let me start off by detailing my last 48 hours, since the launch of my new toy.  I have worried, fretted, paced, wrote down, erased, re-wrote, erased again, scratched my head, scratched my….you get the idea.

All of that over the idea that, I don’t have a clue where to go from here.  My wife, the only person in this world that could put up with me 24/7, has given me some hints.  1. Keep it clean.  2. Write from my heart. 3. Keep it funny/light/witty.  Her advice is welcomed, it won’t always be followed, but it is welcomed.

So, the last 48 hours, I set two personal records.  In the same night.  I rowed 5k in 19 mins and 33 secs.  And I ran 5k in 24:53.  The run was conducted on a treadmill, so I have no real idea about my speed/distance on the 5k run.  All I know is that I set it on a certain speed, and didn’t stop moving until it told me I was done.

So, now down to the title of this post:  Why Batman?

1. Because From Fat-man to Punisher, didn’t rhyme.  My family knows that my favorite heroes are Batman and The Punisher.  Both are men that just had a plan, and executed that plan.

2. Because Batman is an idea.  In the movie, “Batman Begins”, Christian Bale states that Batman is an ideal that could be anyone.  It’s impossible to kill an idea.  It is a goal, a dream.  When one man with that dream passes it on to another, they will pass it on to another, and another.  I began with a dream, of being a more fit, better warrior.  Then a buddy of mine made a joke.  He said, “Hey man, we could go from Fat-man to Batman”.  Every year, we made the same joke, “Dude, know what I got for Christmas?  Fat.  I got fat.  We need to go from Fatman to Batman”.

I got tired of making it a joke.  I wanted to be Batman.  Not the real Batman, I will not be putting on a suit, cape, and mask.  I will not run through the city, fighting crime.  But I want my wife and kids to look at me as the protector of the house.  I want people, that have bad intentions, to look at me and think twice before they go ahead and participate in their illegal activities.

LET ME BE VERY CLEAR!  I am NOT a hero.  I am a husband, a father, a patriot, and a citizen.  I have no desire to be a hero.  I simply want to be around for my boys, when they grow up.  I don’t want to be that dad that is fat, breathes heavy, sits on the couch, and can’t get up and play with my kids and in the far distant future, my grand kids.

In other words, I want to be just like my dad.

3. Because anyone can be Batman, I am using it as an image of motivation for others.  Are you slightly over weight?  No problem.  Take a look at Adam West portraying Batman.

batman

Seriously, see the slight pudge hanging over his Bat-belt?  I did.  That’s what got me started.  I mean, let’s get serious for a moment!  What little boy doesn’t want to be the Caped Crusader?

Now that I’ve been working on it, I am changing my mental image more, reshaping what I see.  In my mind I look a little more like this.

batman2

Is this accurate?  HELL NO!  But it’s what I’m really working on myself to see me as.  Because what my mind sees, that is what my body will become.  Will I ever look like this?  I don’t know.  I can’t say that I will, but I can’t say that I won’t.  That kind of body comes after some serious work.  I mean total dedication to the end result of being like that.

It’s a goal, it’s a dream…it’s my way of motivating myself to get up to the gym every evening of this deployment, and grinding away.  Cutting away at the bad stuff in my life, such as peanut butter cups.  I don’t think anyone can ever truly understand my love for Reese’s Peanut Butter cups.

Well, that’s about all I have on “Why Batman?”

Please feel free to follow me, I intend to post about once a week.  Unless y’all send me large amounts of emails asking me to please stop.

Before I sign off, let me leave you with a workout that we (Myself and my workout partner) came up with last night, we call it “Military Logic”.  Because it’s just retarded.

Military Logic: 10 rounds with a 2 min rest between rounds

20 Flutter Kicks
20 Bicycle Crunches
10 Leg raises (with a 40#KB held over your head)
10 Sit-ups (with a 11# medicine ball)
20 Knee to elbow crunches
10 Russian Twist (with 11# medicine ball)
10 reverse crunches
10 Leg circles (with 40# KB held over your face)

 

Leave a Reply

