Gotham City needs a hero

Wow…a blog.  I don’t even know if I’m 100% sure what the hell a blog is.  But I figured that I have enough to say, whether anyone wants to hear it or not, so I am going to use this to ramble on about stupid stuff, self-defense, fitness, and coffee.

On December 13, 2014, I boarded the USS Iwo Jima.  A part of the Battalion Landing Team.  I was 213 pounds (33 pounds over the Marine Corps standard), and was tired of crash fitness every time the Corps said to get ready for a weigh in or a Physical Fitness Test.  I started working on a plan, I needed something that would inspire me to keep going, to not only get within Marine Corps standards, but to finally take control of my life and do what I wanted to do.

The mission:  My wife challenged me to lose 40 pounds while I was deployed.  Her reason was so that the Corps wouldn’t try to kick me out…secretly, I think she was just tired of seeing chubby me.  I think she wanted to see the man that she met in June of 2001.  The man that made her go crazy with desire. (Sorry to my parents and my in-laws, if you are reading this)

The Execution:  I love Crossfit , it took me a long time to really get into it, I was brainwashed by the typical fitness model that is everywhere in our society.  Go to the gym, do back and biceps on Monday.  Chest and triceps on Tuesday, legs and shoulders on Wednesday.  Cardio on Thursday, rest a day, then repeat.  Eat moderate amount of protein, low amount of fat, and a high amount of carbs.   WHAT A CROCK OF SH*T!  (I’ll cover my love affair with Crossfit at a later time…seriously, I love to tell my story, what better way to get people to accept what you are saying, than to tell them how it worked for you.)

So I get on this boat, in my hands is a book called “The Spartan Warrior Workout“.  This was from the guys that set up the workouts for  the movie “300”.  Brutal is the only word that I can use to describe it the first time I looked through this book.  But I set my sights on completing the 30 day challenge.  That was all I wanted to do, complete it.

The first day, no big deal.  Came into the gym, light warm-up jog, Day 1.   Complete.

Day 2…I hurt so bad, I didn’t want to climb the stairs to the evil torture room.  But, I wasn’t about to let my body dictate what I would do.  Besides, I have been doing Crossfit for years, just because it has been about a year and a half since I did any real work wasn’t going to stop me.  So I decided to use the C2 row machine to warm up, you know stretch the whole body out…2k rowed, day 2…complete…barely.

After that, it became an obsession.  Meal times, were Meat, Veggies.  Apple and PB for snacks.  Rows got longer (5k is my warm up now…and I call myself a bitch if I don’t complete that in under 21 mins.)  The workouts were getting demolished! (Now I grab the biggest Kettlebell when it suggests moderate weight, because I don’t have a heavier bell than 45#)  and I usually end it with a 5k run.

YES, Batfriends, you heard that right.  My “warm-ups” are considered a workout by many people.  My cool downs, are what the Marine Corps runs to determine our fitness level.  and I am crushing them.

Does this make me a “super-human”, no, just a determined individual.  Am I bragging on myself?  YES, it’s my blog.  If you don’t like my ego, feel free to stop reading.

I weighed in today, for my promotion photo, at 177lbs. 2 months after starting, I was down to this weight, I have KEPT it off for 2 months.  Do I have my bad days, you bet your bottom I do.  There are days when I don’t feel like doing anything.  so I don’t.  Recently, I discovered that Fiber One makes a chocolate chip cookie…which I have 1 a day.  I like my coffee still, with a little less cream and NO sugar.

Why am I telling you all of this, because somewhere…someone is calling for help…throwing up the Bat Signal.  And I’ll be damned if I don’t put on my mask and black cape and try to help out.

I am not a hero.  I’m not a personal trainer (maybe someday)…I’m just a guy, that got tired of being fat…and devised a plan.

2 thoughts on “Gotham City needs a hero

  1. WOOT!! Love it Ryan 🙂 box of goodies coming your way soon to help fuel those workouts and possibly a little somethin’ to aid in recovery as well..you’ll just have to wait ‘n see 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

